Banana Split “Ice Cream”

Listen to the audio or read on:

*cue dramatic music*

Ha! Sorry, I couldn’t resist using quotation marks for my post title. But really, this is no ordinary ice cream. I got the idea from a YouTube video I came across a couple of weeks ago about vegetarian foods. Now, I hardly ever eat fruits, and bananas are not at the top of my fruit list, but I do love Banana Split ice cream. So I thought, why not try a recipe that combines my love for ice cream and fool myself into eating fruits at the same time? And this is what I ended up with.

Great for a lazy day

Great for a lazy day

This recipe works on the principle that bananas are naturally “creamy”—bananas have high starch content. It also works on the principle that I am a really lazy dude—if I can skip the custard-making step of ice cream, I will skip it.

Ingredients

  • 3 large ripe bananas (the variety you like to eat)
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup strawberry pie filling
  • 1/4 cup toasted walnuts (sprinkle a tiny pinch of salt on them)

Steps

Freeze the bananas overnight, unpeeled (never freeze peeled or the bananas will oxidize/turn brown).

I froze mine for a week

I froze mine for a week

Use a food processor for this one

Use a food processor for this one

Prepare your food processor. Slice each frozen banana into 2 pieces crosswise. Start peeling. (This can be difficult as frozen banana peel wouldn’t peel off in whole sections like when peeling a banana at room temperature. It can get a bit messy.) Place the peeled bananas in the food processor and process until the consistency of soft serve. I recommend the setting for ice.

Sliced into 2 pieces each

Sliced into 2 pieces each

Peeled and ready

Peeled and ready

Banana soft serve

Banana soft serve

Scoop out the banana soft serve into a freezer-safe bowl. Stir in the chocolate chips and strawberry pie filling. Freeze the ice cream for an hour before serving. Sprinkle some toasted walnuts for each serving.

All the ingredients together

All the ingredients together

And into the freezer it will go

And into the freezer it will go

And voilà, ice cream that’s good for vegetarians and the lactose intolerant. You can try other flavors for the ice cream, but since it’s banana-based, try using ingredients that work with the flavor of bananas. You can also choose to use banana varieties that are blander so that you have a more neutral base for your ice cream. You might need to add some sugar though.

Banana Split Ice Cream Banana Split Ice Cream Banana Split Ice Cream

The best part? This is the best excuse to have ice cream for breakfast. 🙂

Sit back and enjoy

Sit back and enjoy

Leave a Reply

