No Bake Cheesecake

I am very proud of this next recipe. If you’ve read my first several posts in this blog, you’d know that I can make cheesecakes. If you haven’t and don’t, well I’m telling you now: I make a mean cheesecake.

Even now, more than two years since I made my first cheesecake, it’s still a hit. Unfortunately, I am a bit selfish about my cheesecake recipe. And for novice home bakers, getting a cheesecake done just right can be downright daunting. My solution is to find a recipe that I am proud to share, and is easy to prepare and get right the first time.

<cue dramatic music> Enter, my No Bake Cheesecake recipe!

Skip on your diet for this one

Skip on your diet for this one

I initially found a recipe for no bake cheesecake which eliminates the egg component (cheesecakes are essentially cheese-based custards), relying on whipped cream for structure. Sadly, it doesn’t pass muster because what you’ll be getting from it is more of a cheese mousse. It tastes wonderful, don’t get me wrong, but the texture is just not right.

Fortunately, I heard in the grapevine that the secret to a good no bake cheesecake is also one of our moms’ best kitchen friends–gelatin. I tried several locally available brands of gelatin, but it turns out that I can get the best and most consistent results with Knox brand gelatin. So yes, I will shamelessly plug the brand, but it is honestly the best gelatin to use for this recipe.

Gelatin--the secret to this cheesecake

Gelatin–the secret to this cheesecake

Ingredients

Crust

  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1-1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 2 Tbsp white sugar

Cheesecake

  • 2 8-oz bars of cheesecake, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice (or white vinegar)
  • 1 sachet of Knox Unflavored gelatin
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • blueberry pie filling

Steps

Heat up the cream on a double boiler. Whisk in the gelatin powder into the hot cream until fully dissolved. Cover and allow to cool to room temperature.

Heavy cream and gelatin

Heavy cream and gelatin

Combine the melted butter with the graham cracker crumbs and sugar. Pack the crust onto the bottom and sides of an 8-inch springform pan. (Mine was a 9-inch pan, but use an 8-inch one so you get thicker cake slices.) Set aside.

Graham Cracker CrustGraham Cracker Crust

Whip together the cheese, sugar, vanilla and lemon juice at high-speed until light and airy. In a separate bowl, whip the cream-gelatin mixture at high-speed until light and airy. Fold together the cheese mixture with the cream and the flour until combined. Be gentle so that most of the air is retained.

It all starts with the cheese

It all starts with the cheese

Light and airy

Light and airy

Pour the cheesecake batter over the prepared crust. Chill the cake in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours. Run a knife around the sides of the pan to release the cake, and remove the sides of the springform pan. Spread some blueberry pie filling on top and serve.

Ready. Set. Go!

Ready. Set. Go!

What you’ll end up with is a rich cheesecake with a great texture. Be ready to over-indulge with this cheesecake.

I couldn't wait to slice into this one

I couldn’t wait to slice into this one

No point in resisting...

No point in resisting…

 

One response to “No Bake Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

