Vanilla Ice Cream

In a perpetually warm environment like where I live, it’s nice to have some way to cool down. And nothing cools me down like a nice tub of coffee ice cream. Or chocolate ice cream. Or vanilla ice cream. Oh who am I kidding, I eat most any flavor of ice cream. There’s nothing like lounging in front of the TV and eating right from the tub.

For the longest time I’ve been searching for an ice cream maker so I can make some of my own ice cream. Just because there are days when I want to treat myself to fresh stuff, unburdened by the concept of preservatives and gelatin in my ice cream. I managed to find one of the big bucket types which can make more than a gallon of ice cream at a time, but that isn’t really practical for someone who lives in the city. But recently I managed to have friends bring over from the UK one of the smaller models, just right for my kitchen. So I made ice cream.

A tall glass of chilly goodness

I have a couple of vanilla pods in my box of (kitchen) tricks, so I decided to make vanilla ice cream. It’s a classic, and honestly, it can’t go wrong. The following recipe is my version of it.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 vanilla bean

Steps

In a large bowl, whip up the eggs with the sugar until well-combined. Set aside.

Working with my KitchenAid Ice Cream attachment

In a large saucepan, combine the heavy cream and milk. Add the salt. Split the vanilla pod along its length with a sharp paring knife. Scrape off the seeds from inside the pod using the knife and add to the milk and cream. Heat up the milk mixture on medium heat with constant stirring. Bring close to a boil then remove from heat.

Pour the heated milk slowly into the eggs while constantly whipping. This will temper the eggs and prevent them from cooking into scrambled eggs in the heat of the milk. Once a third of the hot milk has been added to the eggs, add the rest of it whilst whipping constantly.

Return the custard base to the saucepan. Cook the custard on low heat with constant stirring. Cook it until it thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon, but not longer than that. DON’T LET THE CUSTARD BOIL. Otherwise, the eggs will curdle.

Take the custard out of the heat. Strain with a fine sieve to get rid of any curdled egg. Chill in the fridge and freeze according to your ice cream maker directions.

Simple enough. And nothing beats fresh ice cream made from scratch. Just serve with fresh fruits, your favorite jam or that chocolate sauce you’ve been keeping in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

