Pumpkin Soup

Comfort food. That’s the first thing I think about during rainy nights. That and naps. So when it gets particularly chilly during the rainy season, it’s great to just tuck myself in, get a good mystery book, and have a bowl of warm and hearty soup. And for that, nothing beats the pumpkin soup. Anyone who’s gone to lunch with me knows that whenever pumpkin soup is on the menu, I order it. Then I go on a rampage when it doesn’t meet my expectations. (Well, rampage may be an exaggeration, but believe me, I’m not the easiest to have lunch with.) But I still order it everywhere, trying to find the best pumpkin soup out there and memorizing the restaurants where it’s worth ordering again in the future.

Pumpkin Soup

Because I can’t go out everytime I want to have some pumpkin soup, earlier tonight I took it upon myself to recreate the recipe for my favorite pumpkin soup. (Weirdly enough, I found my favorite in a pizza parlor.) And I gave myself a pat on the back for this one. The resulting soup was amazing: creamy, mildly sweet, and truly comforting.  The added bonus was that there are just a handful of ingredients for this one, most of which I found in our cupboard and fridge. This recipe makes enough for 3 people.

Ingredients

Some nice, bright yellow squash

Some nice, bright yellow squash

  • 200 grams of pumpkin (or squash), diced into chunks
  • Corn oil
  • 4 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 tsp of flour
  • 1/4 tsp of dried thyme
  • 1/4 tsp of dried tarragon
  • Pinch of ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup of heavy cream
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 strips of bacon, chopped and crisped up

Steps

In a sauce pan over medium heat, drizzle about a tablespoon of corn oil. Sautee the garlic in the oil. When the garlic is lightly browned, toss in the pumpkin (or squash), and cook them for about a minute. Pour in the chicken broth and simmer the pumpkin (uncovered) until tender, which is about 20 minutes. This will also reduce the broth. Add the nutmeg, thyme and tarragon and simmer for another 5 minutes.

Lower the heat. Blitz the pumpkin in the broth with a handheld blender, or do it the old-fashioned way with a masher. Whisk in the flour and cook for another minute. Turn off the heat. Blend in the heavy cream. Serve warm in bowls, topped with crispy bacon bits and thyme.

Don’t forget to serve this one with some crispy bacon.

4 responses to “Pumpkin Soup

  1. Awesome post. I love pumpkin soup. The best one I’ve had was from a restaurant in Glorietta called Cul de Sac. It was just a restaurant in the middle of the hall with only a couple of tables. But they served really good food, and one of the dishes we most remember was the pumpkin soup. Sadly, they’ve been gone for a long time already.

  2. I made some yesterday. I didn’t plan to make soup but I was thinking of what to do with the shrimp heads that I was about to throw away. But my version of the pumpkin soup is more like a bisque (because of the shrimp) minus the cognac/wine plus some curry. Weird ba? Pero it tasted good naman. Hehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

