2011 Movies

It’s only February in 2011, but already I’ve watched a bunch movies on the big screen. I love going to the cinema, and it’s a regular Friday night thing for me. I usually go with my best friend, and it’s become a routine for us. Some of the movies I’ve seen so far are hits, some are misses, while one is absolutely horrible to say the least. Now, I’m not planning on giving full reviews on any film, but I will list down the ones I’ve seen and the ones I’m planning to see later in the year.

Among the movies I liked so far this year are (in no particular order):

Green Hornet – Given that I have issues with the character development, this film did offer a lot of action for me, and it helps that their gadgets are cool. And that Seth Rogen is funny.

The Mechanic – We all have our favorite action stars, and mine is Jason Statham. And this film did not fail to deliver the expected adrenaline rush from his action sequences. Brilliant. Ben Foster ain’t half bad either.

Love and Other Drugs – Technically this movie is in limbo for me because somewhere along line the chemistry between Jake Gyllenhaal and Anne Hathaway just waned. The cheesy happy ending and the fact that I like both actors puts this film in my ‘Like” list. Barely.

The Tourist – I expected more action from this film, but what it lacked in kickass sequences it made up for in comedy by Johnnie Depp and by sheer sexiness from Angelina Jolie.

Tangled – I liked this film so much I watched it in 3D twice. Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi’s, along with Donna Murphy, performances were great. It reminded me so much of Aladdin from when I was younger, but with a much fresher approach and look.

Unknown – This thriller starring Liam Neeson had me guessing to the end even though some twists had been predictable from the start. I enjoyed seeing Neeson in action scenes.

And the only film that made me want to get my money back is:

Season of the Witch – Okay, so Nicolas Cage has starred in a variety of hit-and-miss roles, but this film is an absolute waste of energy. I won’t even bother linking to the movie’s site. The final straw was when the monks who died from the Black Plague (so they were disfigured and had boils and pus all over) were possessed by demons and started attacking the protagonists. They actually managed to combine religion, demons and zombies in one film. Bleh.

Despite my one irredeemably bad movie experience, I am still looking forward to a lot of films this 2011. Among them are:

  • No Strings Attached
  • Just Go With It
  • I Am Number four
  • Adjustment Bureau
  • Beastly
  • Red Riding Hood
  • Sucker Punch
  • Thor
  • X-Men First Class
  • Green Lantern
  • Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon
  • Harry Potter: The Deathly Hallows Part 2

There are a lot more coming and I’m sure my list will grow throughout the year. I’m just waiting to be surprised. If you want to recommend other films worth watching, simply post them in the comments section. 🙂

Leave a Reply

