Cookie or Cake?

Everyone ought to have great friends. And I do! And every so often I show my appreciation by baking a batch of cookies, or cakes to share. That in fact is how I got into baking in the first place. One day, when I was still in college, my mom and I were cleaning out our cabinets, and I chanced upon my aunt’s cookie press from the 80’s. It was dusty and looked lonely from having been left unused for around 20 years (no joke there). Luckily, it came with a butter cookie recipe which worked like a charm. It was an instant hit with my friends in school. So it became an annual tradition for me to make cookies for my school organization during the holiday season.

As years went by, I found more recipes to make and the frequency of me bringing goodies for friends increased. It was part showing appreciation and part making them my guinea pigs for new recipes. (I’ve never admitted that to them before.) Recently, my friends started asking me to try recipes they found on the net, and they pointed me to this charming page right here. It features the Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake. (Whoa, that was a mouthful!) Thanks to Ellie (Almost Bourdain) for sharing with us such an amazing recipe. 🙂

Since then I’ve added this cookie-cake recipe to my favorite recipes collection. I make the recipe exactly as described in the page, but I also add 1/4 cup of cashews which has worked brilliantly for me. I will no longer post the recipe here, so go see the recipe in the Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake page by Almost Bourdain.

Below are just some notes from when I made this last.

A good tip when trying to soften butter is to cut it into smaller pieces

Always butter your pan, or you can use a non-stick spray

Sift your flour, baking soda and salt together to ensure proper mixing

Cool your cookie cake on the pan, or using a cooling rack, before cutting

2 responses to “Cookie or Cake?

Leave a Reply

